Kombucha: Fermented, cancer-fighting, detox tea

Kombucha Tea batch 1

Until recently, I’d never heard of kombucha tea.  But now that I’m on my fourth  batch, I must say, it is simply delicious.  I’m drinking a glass of it every day now.  My 9mo even gets a sip every now and again.

Kombucha tea is a fermented beverage made from filtered water, tea bags, sugar and slimy weird something thing some call a ‘mother’. I prefer it’s real name, SCOBY, but call it a mother if you want.  Besides being delicious, this tea has several health benefits.

  • Detoxifies your body
  • Helps prevent cancer and/or the spread of cancer
  • Prevents arthritis and keeps joints in good condition
  •  Contains probiotics and helps keep your gut healthy

What drew me to kombucha is the cancer prevention and the probiotics.  In 2007, my dermatologist found melanoma on my back.  Because it was on my back, I’d have never known it was there if he hadn’t have pointed it out and biopsied it.  Thank God I listened when I heard a little voice inside telling me to go get a skin check. My doctor said if he hadn’t have caught and removed it when he did, it may have spread to my whole body.  Considering I’m not even 30 yet, I’m going to do everything in my power to avoid skin cancer, or any cancer for that matter.  I’m too young to die.

My mom used to make me take acidophilus pills when I was younger.  As a result, I rarely got sick.  Never underestimate the power of a healthy gut.  The bacteria army in your gut fights against everything you come in contact with.  Keeping them well armed is key to staying healthy.  Since I’m still breastfeeding my nine month old son, staying healthy is even more important to me.

I love old school, natural remedies.  Which is why I love kombucha.  The stuff has been around for more than 2,000 years!  It’s easy, cheap and it works.  Here’s how to make it.

Kombucha. A crash course.

Assuming you already have, or can obtain, a SCOBY, follow the directions below.  If you don’t know where to get one, try this website.

Boil 12 cups of filtered water.  Add one cup of granulated white sugar.  This is the SCOBY’s food so don’t think you can skimp on the sugar.

Remove from heat and add 4 tea bags and let steep until water is room temperature.  Remove tea bags.

Pour all 12 cups into a gallon sized glass jar. 

Place SCOBY carefully on top of the water and add 1/2 cup of your previous batch of kombucha or the liquid the SCOBY came with.

Place a thin towel over the top of the jar and rubber-band it on.

Place jar in a warm, dark place for 7 to 10 days.

When ready, wash hands with a soap that isn’t anti-bacterial.  You don’t want to kill the poor SCOBY when you handle it.

Remove towel and reach in, unafraid, and grab the SCOBY. Place on a plate.

Pour kombucha into glass jars and chill, reserving the SCOBY and 1/2 cup of kombucha for next batch.

Do not use plastic or metal jars or utensils when handling kombucha.  I don’t know why, but it needs to be glass.

That’s it. Isn’t that easy? For less than a dollar a batch you can have a great tasting drink that helps keep you healthy!

Try it today!

