Now that I’m a mother

Hannah with day old Reagan

Hannah with day old Reagan, a neighbor

When you become responsible for another human life, an impressionable, curious, completely-dependent-on-you little life, you can’t help but view things differently.  It’s not just you now.  You have someone else to watch out for, care for and love.

Now that I’m a mother, loving this little person I helped give life to takes priority over nearly everything else.

Now that I’m a mother, I look at my life from the outside in.  How are these little eyes going to see me and what I am doing?  I am inspired to be the best example I can be.  If I don’t model good behavior, where will they see it? Home is where this little life grows up and learns what it means to be a follower of Jesus.  I am not perfect.  As the oft sung Sunday school song goes, “He’s still working on me“.

Now that I’m a mother, I worry much less about looking perfect on the outside and more about being an example of the perfect One.  ‘What Would Jesus Do’ seems to be a cliche nowadays but it’s such a good blueprint for the lives of our young ones. If I model my behavior after Jesus, they’ll grow up to be a virtuous person.

Now that I’m a mother, I am careful about what I listen to on the radio and watch on the television.  Little eyes and ears are absorbing everything like a sponge.  I am negligent if I act as like this isn’t true.  Love always protects. 1 Corinthians 13:7 To the people who use foul language in front of their children, I’ve always wondered, how long do you think you can get away with that before your little one starts to take notice and imitate you? Not long, I’m sure.  A foul mouth on a child is extremely unattractive.  I am trying to get into the habit of allowing only positive forms of media into our home now, while our little one is small and doesn’t notice so that when he’s actually listening, all he’ll hear are uplifting, pure, noble, lovely things.  Philippians 4:8 

Now that I’m a mother, I must take better care of myself.  1 Corinthians 6:19-20 I must be thoughtful as to how I spend my time and what I put into my body.  It is not wise to be constantly sedentary and a lazy consumer of junk food.  I want my life to communicate how important it is to be active and eat healthy.  The healthier you are, the better you can serve Jesus and others.

