Scotch Eggs from Well Fed

From the moment I saw the Scotch Eggs recipe in the Paleo cookbook Well Fed by Melissa Joulwan, I couldn’t wait to make them.  Problem was, I wanted to make them with lamb instead of pork and I couldn’t find it anywhere.  I love how author Melissa recommends different tweaks to her recipes at the bottom of each page.  This recipe for scotch eggs recommended spices and meat combinations to imitate various worldwide cuisines.  My cuisine of choice this evening was Indian. In addition to all the regular spices this recipe calls for, I added curry and substituted one pound of pork for one pound lamb, which I was able to find at the commissary, yay!

Being the locavore I am, I only buy eggs from the small chicken farmer down the road.  This is great nutritionally but not so great when I want a hard boiled egg.  For some reason, farm fresh eggs are almost impossible to peel.  Nope, not even if I add baking soda to the water when I’m boiling. THAT Pinterest trick does not work! Ice cubes don’t work.  So for future attempts at scotch eggs, I have two options. 1) let my farm fresh eggs sit in the fridge awhile before I use them or 2) suffer through peeling them.  I will not buy grocery store eggs just for this.  Anyway…this recipe called for A TON spices, as evidenced below in the photo.  I’m a no-fuss kind of girl but this wide array of spices really made this dish special.  That, and my house smelled amazing while I was cooking them.

After wrapping the eggs in the ground meat, they looked like giant meatballs.  I love meatballs!  I thought I could easily eat two of these giant meatballs but no, they are so filling, I could only manage one.  Its great for big eaters like my husband!

I hope you try it out, it’s so worth it.

IMAG1157IMAG1158

 

Recipe courtesy of Well Fed author:

Scotch Eggs
Makes 5 servings
(I know that’s a weird number, but I wanted to add about 3 oz. of meat to the egg to make it a complete meal-size serving of protein.)

Ingredients
1 lb. ground pork
1 tablespoon Penzeys Italian Sausage Seasoning*
5 hard-boiled eggs, peeled**

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 375F.

2. Mix the ground pork and sausage seasoning until well-combined.

3. Divide the pork mixture into 5 equal servings. Flatten the pork into an even pancake shape, and wrap around a hard-boiled egg, sealing it all the way around and making sure the meat is evenly distributed. This is WAY easier than its sounds. Just roll and lovingly pat it into place.

4. Place the wrapped eggs on a baking sheet and bake about 20-25 minutes, or until the outsides are nicely browned and starting to crisp.

