The stork is on his way to my house

Good day dear readers.  Hannah here.  It’s true. The stork is coming to my house and he’s bringing us a bundle of joy! I’m pregnant, due in August!  When I got the positive pregnancy test in January, I was so excited about the possibility of blogging tips about staying fit and eating Paleo while pregnant.  But my body had other plans.

At first, I considered myself lucky to have only puked a handful of times in the first weeks of pregnancy.  Admitting that may have jinxed me!  Now that I’m in my second trimester, I have felt sick, or gotten sick, almost every day.  Everyone was telling me the second trimester is the best…ha!  I have yet to experience a sickness free morning.  Exercise and staying active helps a lot but it’s not a cure-all. If I get up early and go to Crossfit class, I’m usually okay to continue on about my day without an upset stomach.  It’s the time between waking up and getting out the door that is difficult.  I never know if my breakfast is going to agree with me or not.

I love to know how things work and why.  If A+B=C  in most situations, I know what to do to fix/avoid/remedy a situation.  Pregnancy is different.  There is fix-all solution.  What works for one woman, may not work for another.  It took me a long time to figure this out.  Just because crackers, juice and a walk around the block helped yesterday, doesn’t mean it will prevent me from puking my guts out today.  Do you know how irritating that is someone who thinks like me?  Yesterday I fixed my leaky toilet.  I knew that if I turned the screw a certain way, it would stop leaking and the problem would be solved.  It’s too bad avoiding morning sickness does not follow a similar equation.

Needless to say, cooking through Well Fed has not been high on my priority list. Neither has blogging.  I’m not sure what it is, but preparing food has been quite difficult lately.  Food aversions? Yes, I have them.  They are slowly going away, thank goodness.  Instead of preparing  new and creative Paleo meals, a lot of the time I’ve been roasting meat in the oven for 45 minutes and steaming veggies to go on the side.  Those meals require the least amount of preparation on my part.  I have little motivation to try new dishes.  I’m sorry for that dear readers, but it’s not me, it’s the baby (yes, I’m passing the blame on to my unborn child).  I will keep my commitment to cooking through Well Fed like I promised but I don’t know when I can begin.

In future posts, I plan to review the prenatal yoga DVD I purchased from Amazon, explain how certain foods during pregnancy can aid in development and give examples of Crossfit WOD’s perfect for expectant mothers.  Thank you for being patient!

