Well Fed: Ras El Hanout

I know it has been some time since we talked about our cooking experiment. Truth is, I’ve been cooking out of this cookbook for sometime, I just haven’t made time to sit at my trusty computer and tell you all about it. I started out with a couple easy items, like mixing spices together. I’d like to direct your attention to page 47 of Well Fed. Ras El Hanout first originated in North Africa about a zillion years ago, and could contain a lot more spices. What I love about Melissa Joulwans recipe is how simple it really is. Essentially you take about 10 exotic yummy spices and whisk them together with a fork.

IMG_7568 IMG_7569 IMG_7570

 

All I had on hand was whole allspice, so I used my coffe bean grinder, and grinded it all up, and put it back into the spice container  I don’t remember the last time I used whole allspice, as a matter of fact, I don’t recall the very reason I bought whole allspice? You know those containers of flavored almonds? I used those for my homemade spice mixes. I cleaned them out, took off the labeling and mixed up this amazing spice inside it. I have yet to actually use Ras El Hanout, but let me tell you what, it smells AMAZING!

Please visit The Clothes Make the Girl, Melissa writes an amazing blog, and an amazing cookbook! Let’s go PALEO readers! 🙂

