My perfect accidental burger

I grew up with Grandma Sunshine, who is an amazing cook.  She had the unique talent of throwing things together to create masterpieces.  It was from her that I learned that as long as you throw things together that complement each other, it will almost certainly taste wonderful.  Exhibit A.IMAG0870

 

You’re looking at one of the most delicious burgers I’ve ever created.  How did I do it, you ask?  Well, here’s what I did.

To a defrosted pound of ground beef, I added 1 egg, 1 tablespoon of ground flax seed meal, a dash of salt, a dash of pepper and some garlic salt and red pepper flakes.  I mixed the whole thing up and my husband grilled them on our George Foreman.  The result was stupendous.  I don’t really know how to describe it.  The burger was so simple, yet amazing, that it satisfied my craving for hamburgers in no time at all.

As you can see, I didn’t use buns.  I’m on a Paleo kick.  Romain lettuce worked perfectly, though it was a bit slippery and juicy.  If you try this, definitely have a napkin on hand.  We also added bacon, tomato, and avocado to really amp up the flavor.  We didn’t even miss cheese!  My husband loved them!

Those round orange things you see are sweet potato chips, courtesy of PaleOMG.  You can make your own here.

