Why I Chose To Be Fit & Faithful

I thought it might be important to give a background of why I (Hannah) chose to live a healthy life and a life that is God-centered.

First and foremost, I am a Christian. I believe Jesus is the only way to heaven, that faith without works is dead and that everything I do should glorify God and point others to Him.  I’ve been a believer since I was 5 or 6, when I came to my dad to pray “the prayer”.  Now I don’t believe there’s any power in a prayer, it’s what you believe in your heart and what you follow after the rest of your life.  Growing up in a Christian home, it was pretty easy to live a life that pleased God.  It wasn’t until I was out on my own did I realize it’s not about pleasing God, it’s about developing a meaningful relationship with Him and trusting Him for  everything.  I choose Jesus because it’s the only way.

My decision to live healthy is secondary to my decision to follow Christ but I believe they go hand in hand.  Consider the verse in 1 Corinthians that says, “ Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own,  for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” (ESV)

Glorifying God with my body means taking care of it.  It means being intentional about what I put into it and avoiding things I know will cause my body harm.  The Bible says our bodies are made of dust and will become dust again upon death. As Christians, we will get a new body once we get to heaven. Now some people might think that since our earthly bodies are temporary, we don’t really need to care for them.  I don’t think that’s so!  The Bible says that we are made in His image and in regards to our bodies and daily activities, we should “do it all for the glory of God” (1 Cor 10:31).  I think it’s pretty clear that as long as we are here on earth, we are to take care of what God has entrusted us with.

I am leaning towards a vegan diet for a few reasons, the first being my health.  After watching Forks Over Knives, it’s so clear to me how animal products cause our bodies harm.  Secondly, I am passionate about the earth.  As humans, we’re doing a terrible job of taking care of it.  Raising, slaughtering and distributing animals for human consumption is a costly and very dirty business.  Consider the following quote from www.happycow.net on how becoming a vegan helps save the environment.

Eating a vegan diet reduces waste and devastation of earth’s precious resources.  Consider the enormous energy put into growing grains to feed cattle. Aside from the gutted rainforests, up to 5000 gallons of water for is required to raise one pound of beef! According to the US Department of Agriculture statistics, one acre of land can grow 20,000 pounds of potatoes. That same acre of land, when used to grow cattle feed, can produce less than 165 pounds of edible cow flesh.

Lastly, becoming vegan is better for our wallet.  Meat, dairy and eggs are expensive.  The vegan counterparts are significantly less to purchase.  Consider a bag of brown rice.  It costs what, a few dollars, and can be used for more than one meal.

I believe I am pursuing the very best plan for eating for myself and my family.  Just the other day, my husband and I decided to get a 2 for $20 steak special at a locally owned restaurant here in town.  It was the first time I’d eaten beef in a long time and afterwards, I feel horrible.  I was tired and I felt heavy.  When I eat a plant-based diet, I actually feel like I have more energy.  It’s a great feeling to eat to live, not live to eat.

