Goals for May

Where has April gone? I feel like it was a very short month, is anyone else in agreement with me on that one?  I don’t know why it seems like time passes quicker as I get older, but it does.  Nevertheless, May is upon us and I want to set some goals for myself, publicly, so that I have a better chance of sticking to them.

I recently watched the documentary film Forks Over Knives for the second time with my husband.  The first time was in nutrition class at my local community college.  I was amazed when I watched it then but the second time, I became inspired and motivated to change.  For those of you who haven’t seen it, go watch it! It’s on Netflix!  It promotes a whole foods, plant based diet on the based on scientific research done by Dr. T. Colin Campbell and Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn.  They claim that by avoiding animal products (meat & dairy) and processed foods (especially sugar), you can prevent or reverse conditions like cancer, heart disease, diabetes and high blood pressure.  The film has several people who can attest to the effectiveness of this diet because they tried it and were able to reverse several unfavorable conditions in their lives and in some cases, stop taking prescription medications for those conditions.  The evidence is clear here, proper nutrition changes things.  That being said, I have decided to become a vegetarian.  I’m going to take on some, but not all, traits of a vegan.  I plan to use May as my springboard preparation for May, when I plan to put my plan into practice. Here are my plans.

  • Replace cow’s milk with almond milk. I chose almond milk because it’s low in calories and I don’t trust most soy products.  Monsanto, the company that controls almost all soybean seeds in the US, uses genetically modified plants.  Not enough research has been done on genetically modified (GM) foods to know if they are harmful to your health or not.  Until then, I will avoid what GM foods I can.
  • Replace ice cream with non-dairy treats. I have a special place in my heart for ice cream.  My family will tell you I would eat a bowl of ice cream each night if I was allowed.  It is hands down my dessert of choice.  But, after watching Forks Over Knives, I must give up this delicious dairy treat.  If I want a dessert treat, I will choose low sugar, all fruit popsicles, fruit sorbet or flavored ice instead.  I will also search for vegan versions of my favorite pies and treats that pack a lot of flavor but not a lot of fat.
  • Cut meat out of my diet.   Many Americans are partial to meat, thinking it’s necessary for living. I don’t feel this way about meat.  I could cut meat out of my diet completely and not miss it.  I don’t crave steaks or burgers and I don’t mind the taste of Veggie burgers or “burgers” made with black beans.  My husband would disagree, but I really don’t think this is going to be an issue.
  • Refuse processed foods.  Of all the inventions of our modern world, this may be one of the worst.  Not only do they wreak havoc on our bodies, they also demand energy and materials to produce, which in turn, play a part in wreaking our environment.
Those are just a few of the things I am planning to do this May.  I want to make time to track my progress via this blog.
What are you learning from the Lord lately?  For me, it’s been a lesson in changing my attitude.  I am ashamed to say, I haven’t had the best attitude lately.  Yes, like the book we are reading in home group says, I put on a mask to hide it.  I don’t want to hide under a mask anymore.  I have a bad attitude sometimes when things don’t go my way.  I worry too much and pray too little.  God needs to be the center of my life, my first priority.
Though the thoughts and ideas are based upon the authors of Fit and Faithfuls opinions, the scripture is truth. It is strongly recommended that you consult your physician prior to starting a fitness routine or diet. This blog is a drama free zone, and we reserve the right to delete comments deemed inappropriate. It is our desire to share testimonies on this blog. If you would like to share how God has impacted your life to a health path, or have become more faithful through fitness, please contact us at fitandfaithful@gmail.com for more details
