Who motivates you?

It’s common knowledge that having a gym buddy will increase the likelihood that you’ll stick with your fitness plan.  But what about a food buddy? Is there someone in your life that encourages and motivates you to eat healthy?  I know when there’s no one around, I tend to want to have a big bowl of ice cream or buy a cookie at the Great American Cookie Company near my workplace.  But you know what? I don’t usually indulge because I have people in my life to help keep me in line.  My husband and I keep each other in check by only allowing one another one ‘treat’ per day.  Can you tell sweets are my weakness?  My boss just started his P90X workout.  He’s not only doing the intense workouts, he’s following the food plan as well.  From what I’ve heard, it’s pretty demanding.  He’s only allowed one serving of carbs per day and one ‘treat’ per week.  OUCH!

When people around me desire to live healthy, it inspires and motivates me to do the same.  You know that saying, “Be happy because you don’t know who is falling in love with your smile.”?  I think the same goes for how you live your life.  Your healthy attitude may be motivating someone.

I encourage you, if you’re inspired by someone, tell them.  Perhaps you can spark a deeper friendship or gain a ‘food buddy’ 🙂

Romans 12:8 says, “if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.” Paul was talking about spritual gifts in this particular passage but the message is clear.  If you can encourage, do so.  Let’s put this into practice.  Some practical ways we can do this is:

Share your healthy meal plans with your friends on Facebook, share your exercise plans with your friends, tell someone how much you appriciate their example of how to plan a well balanced meal for themselves or their familes, ask your friends if they would keep you accountable to your healthy-minded goals or if they would like the same.

~Hannah

Though the thoughts and ideas are based upon the authors of Fit and Faithfuls opinions, the scripture is truth. It is strongly recommended that you consult your physician prior to starting a fitness routine or diet. This blog is a drama free zone, and we reserve the right to delete comments deemed inappropriate. It is our desire to share testimonies on this blog. If you would like to share how God has impacted your life to a health path, or have become more faithful through fitness, please contact us at fitandfaithful@gmail.com for more details. 

