Making ‘healthy’ taste good

So you’re eating a salad? Gold star for you.  Quick question, how much dressing did you put on it? Do you know how much sugar, fat and sodium that dressing has?  It might be wise to check before you pour on the flavor.  According to this website, salad dressing packs an average of 300 extra calories on to your salad.  WHOA.  If you’re trying to cut back on calories to lose weight or just be healthier, perhaps going light on the dressing, or skipping it all together, is the right choice for you.

Now consider all the ‘healthy’ choices we eat.  I’ll use myself as an example.  I frequently make oatmeal or cream of wheat for breakfast for my husband and I.  My mom used to make these for me as a kid and I prepare them exactly how she does.  For the cream of wheat, I do half milk (1%) and half water and prepare as directed on the package.  Then when it’s done, I add 1 pat of butter per serving plus 1 teaspoon of brown sugar per serving.  The result is delicious!  I got to thinking the other day, how many extra and unnecessary calories am I adding?  I think if we were all more conscious of how much we modify our “healthy” food choices, we may  choose differently.

~Hannah

Though the thoughts and ideas are based upon the authors of Fit and Faithfuls opinions, the scripture is truth. It is strongly recommended that you consult your physician prior to starting a fitness routine or diet. This blog is a drama free zone, and we reserve the right to delete comments deemed inappropriate. It is our desire to share testimonies on this blog. If you would like to share how God has impacted your life to a health path, or have become more faithful through fitness, please contact us at fitandfaithful@gmail.com for more details. 

